Housing Discrimination

How do you recognize Housing Discrimination?

Under the Fair Housing Act, it is against the law to:

  • Refuse to rent you or sell you housing
  • Tell you housing is unavailable when in fact it is available
  • Show you apartments or homes in certain neighborhoods only
  • Advertise housing to preferred groups of people only
  • Refuse to provide you with information regarding mortgage loans, deny you a mortgage loan, or impose difference conditions on a mortgage loan
  • Deny you property insurance
  • Conduct property appraisals in a discriminatory manner
  • Refuse to make certain modifications or accommodations for person with a metal or physical disability, including persons recovering from alcohol and substance abuse and HIV/AIDS-related illnesses
  • Fail to design and construct housing in an accessible manner
  • Harass, coerce, intimidate, or interfere with anyone exercising or assisting someone else with their fair housing rights

Based on these factors:

  • Race
  • Color
  • National Origin
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Familial Status (families with children under the age of 18 or who are expecting a child), or
  • Handicap (if you or someone close to you has a disability

This information is provided as a public service by the City of Augusta, Kansas in an effort to ensure fair housing for all.  Learn more about the Fair Housing Act and housing discrimination.